Alert : Javascript is disabled. To View this Website, Please Enable Your Browser's Javascript...

Department of Public Administration

Go Back

Beginning of the Journey

The Department of Public Administration saw the light of the Day in 1996  by a resolution of the Syndicate of  Utkal University.  The decision of the University was quite timely and in response to complex development in     Public Administration and the demand for Applied Research in public policy and governance. Since then, it has catered to the needs of the youth belonging to different streams of education- Arts, Science, Commerce and Management and technical field. Presently, we offer 32 seats in Masters in Public Administration, 10 seats in M.phil and seats in doctoral programme is declared as per vacancies with faculties to give guidance to research scholars.


 The Department has sustained its multi -disciplinary character by   diversifying itself  in 2007 and has opened M.A. programme in Development Journalism and Electronic Communication  with  support from UGC  under XI Plan. In 2012 the Department also introduced Ph D programme in Journalism. This year the programme has been renamed as Journalism and Mass communication following UGC guidelines. Presently, we offer 40 seats in masters in Journalism and Mass communication.


The Department works tirelessly towards the accomplishment of its vision. It has two aspects:

  • In Parlance with University vision our department is committed to work for a centre of excellence in higher education with focus on innovative teaching, learning,  research, consultancy  and  extension activities in building a creative,  enlightened and productive civil society.
  • As an applied discipline it aims to focus on empirical research on Public Policy and Governance.


  • Its mission is to impart specialized knowledge in the field of administration keeping in view the increasing complexities of socio-political development.


  • To provide the students with knowledge, skill, values and sensitivity necessary for a successful citizen.
  • To create and disseminate knowledge through interdisciplinary research and creative inquiry in developing a meaningful and sustainable society.
  • To equip the students with problem solving, leadership and teamwork skills and inculcating a sense of commitment to quality, ethical, behavioural and respect for others.
  • To provide a platform for free flow of ideas where discovery, creativity and professional development finds a scope for fulfilment in making the world a better place to live in.
  • To new ideas, new ways of understanding, new ways of knowing in their journey of intellectual transformation.

    Thrust areas of Research:

    • public policy evaluation,
    • Gender studies,
    • E-governance
    •  issues in governance

Name : Padmalaya Mahapatra
Designation : Reader & HEAD
Qualification : M.A, M.Phil, Ph.D, LLB
Phone No. : +91-9437491606
E-mail ID :
View Details
Name : Swarnamayee Tripathy
Designation : Professor
Qualification : Ph.d
Phone No. : +91-9438013946
E-mail ID :
View Details
Name : Niranjan Pani
Designation : Professor
Qualification : M.A, M.Phil, Ph.D, D.Ltt
Phone No. : +91-9437081346
E-mail ID :,
View Details
Name : Jyotirmayee Tudu
Designation : Lecturer
Qualification : M.Phil
Phone No. : +91-9438480131
E-mail ID :
View Details

  • Departmental Seminar
  • Reading Library
  • Telephone
  • Computer and Internet

  • Ours is the only department offering M.A. Programme in the State.
  • The Department publishes its Annual Journal ‘Public Administration Review’ since 1996.
  • The Department is a peer team member of Govt. of Odisha for preparing training module for PRI members.
  • The Department is peer team member of Govt. of Odisha for preparing training module for implementation of good governance agenda to government officials.
  • Leads the editorial group  in publishing University Newsletter, Vani Prajna.
  • Completed:

    Prof. Bijoyini Mahanty Women in Local Governance: A Study of  Bhubaneswar and Cuttack Municipal Corporations in Orissa’ , Funds- Rs.3,62,700/- given by UGC, completed in 2011.


    Prof. Swarnamayee Tripathy: ‘Maternity Benefits to women in institutions of Higher Education in Odisha’, Funds-Rs.9,08,250/-, Funding agency- National Commission for Women, to be completed in August 2017.

    • (National/International/) with details of outstanding participants of if any.              

    Sl. No







    Outstanding participants

    /Invited Speakers


    Climate Change and Concerns for women in Odisha


    4th March,2016

    Sansristi, DRI, Dept.of Geology & Dept.

    Dr. Ajit Pattnaik,IAS

    Dr. Amrita Patel


    Consumer Justice, Market and Globalization


    13th & 14th Feb,2016

    IIPA, NewDelhi

    Prof.Suresh Mishra

    Chair Professor,  Centre for Consumer Studies

    Prof. SriKrishnaDevRao,

    Vice Chancellor, NLIU, Cuttack


    FDI in Multibrand Retail


    12th Sept.2016

    Sansristi, DRI &Dept.

    Dr. Kishore Samal, NCDS

    Dr. V. Ramanna, XIMB

    Prof. Asha Hans

    Sudhir Pattnaik, Editor, Sama dristi


    “Women In Odisha”


    2nd March, 2015

    Sansristi, DRI & Dept.

    Dr. Bidyut Mohanty, Director, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi,

    Bisakha Bhanja, Country Head,

    Water Aid

    Dr.Amrita Patel,Project Advisor, State Resource Centre for Women, Govt. Of Odisha

    Lalita Misal, State Coordinator, NAWO

    Kasturi Ray, Senior Journalist,  Indian Express

    Manoranjan Mohanty, Retd. Prof. of Political Science, Delhi University



    " Ethics in Governance”


    22nd Jan.  2015

    Own resources

    Sri Prassanna Kumar Dash, Director of Expenditure, Election Commission of India, Sri Satya Narayan Sahu, Media Director to President K.R. Narayanan & Joint Secretary, Rajya Sabha Secretariat


    “Consumer Rights & Globalisation”


    25th Feb. 2014


    Prof. Leon Miller(Faculty, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia)

    Shri Nilamber Rath, Media Head, E TV News


    "Impact of Corporate Social Responsibility on Society and Environment”


    10th May2013


    Madhusudan Vijoy Wargiya,Executive director, Paradip Refinery project, Indian Oil

    Ansuman Das, CMD,Nalco

    Sailendra kumar Tamotia, Former CMD, Nalco, Former Advisor, Magnesium International, Australia


    Challenges to Administration in India: Issues & Challenges,



      20th Mar.2012

    UGC & SBI, U.U. Campus Branch

    Prof. R. R Jha,Prof. In Pol.Sc. BHU

    Prof. L.N. Mishra, Former VC, Utkal University,




    • State Civil service- 04
    • Bank Probationary Officers- 18
    • Employed in Banks in other posts-20
    • Judicial Service-One
    • Assistant Professors-06
    • Teaching -  10
    • Research Associates- 04
    • Entrepreneurs- 05
    • Media Houses: 50
    • Working in NGO- 05

    1. Ramachandra Khuntia. Member of Parliament, Ph D scholar
    2. Dilip Kumar Biswal, Judicial Magistrate
    3. Prof. Biswajit Das, Prof. in Business administration, KIIT University
    4. Shri Pratap Beura,OAS
    5. Shri  Rajesh  Behera, OAS
    6. Shri Jagannath Das, OAS
    7. Dipak Kumar Jena, Manager, Syndicate Bank
    8. Akash Singh, Manager ,SBI
    9. Ipsit Sahoo,OAS
    10. Manoranjan Misra, MD, Kanak TV
    11.  Rajaram Satpathy, Sub-editor, Times of  India
    12.  Alexandar Das, Editor, Jajpur Express
    13.  Biswajit Sahu, National level Singer
    14. Dr. Devilal Misra
    15.  Vikram Patnaik, Industrialist
    16. Chinmay Pradhan, national Level Lawn Tennis Player
    17. Bibhudatta Mahapatra, Public Relation officer
    18.  Minati Mishra, Sub-editor, Times of India
    19. Abinas Sarangi, Journalist
    20. Manoj Biswal, Journalist